Among the new laws that took effect in New Jersey on Jan. 1, 2018, is a welcome increase in the state’s minimum wage. Those who currently serve in minimum wage positions should expect to see the increase on payroll for hours worked after Jan. 1, but some employers may need some assistance implementing the increase effectively and in a timely manner.
The increase raises the minimum wage in New Jersey to $8.25, up from $7.25 previously. The increase itself was approved as a part of a state Constitutional amendment that voters approved back in 2013, and is set to fluctuate in accordance with inflation. While costs of living continue to climb higher each and every day, the average wages in the state only rose $.06 in 2017, well below the rising costs of many common living expenses.
New Jersey Policy Perspective reports that this increase may affect about 90,000 workers in the state who currently receive minimum or near-minimum wages, and another 200,000 workers whose wages are above minimum wage by only a small margin.
If you face difficulties receiving fair pay from your employer, don’t be afraid to consult with an experienced wage law attorney. Choosing to stand up and fight for fair treatment is not only important for your own rights and dignity, it is important for those who do not have the resources or strength to stand up and fight for themselves. An experienced, empathetic attorney can help you understand your rights and fight for more just employment for those at levels of the pay scale.
Source: NJ.com, “7 Jersey law changes that could affect you just came in with the new year,” Samantha Marcus, Jan. 02, 2018