Costello & Mains, LLC
Call for a Free Consultation
  • 856-291-0642
  • 800-421-0212

Wage & Hour Laws Archives

Rights for seasonal workers in New Jersey

There are two spikes in employment every year in the state of New Jersey: the holiday season and the summer season. During the holidays, retailers across the state hire part-time, or seasonal, workers to help with the rush of holiday shoppers. During the summer, retailers, restaurants and municipalities hire seasonal workers to help with the influx of vacationers along the Jersey Shore. This includes lifeguards at pools, along the bay and on the beaches.

Do you have unpaid wages? It’s time to take action

If you have unpaid wages, it goes without saying that you want to recover back pay as soon as possible. Letting your employer get away with this should never cross your mind, as it will impact your employment and finances in a variety of ways.

Plan to raise minimum wage in New Jersey to $15 per hour

The plan to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour in New Jersey continues to move forward. Another hurdle to raise the minimum wage in the Garden State was cleared on Monday, January 28, 2019, according to a report from WHYY. The bill, supported by Governor Phil Murphy and other top Democratic lawmakers, will head to the Senate and the Assembly for full votes later this week. The votes could be held as early as Thursday.

New Jersey labor laws protect your right to pay and sick leave

New Jersey state labor laws require employers to uphold certain hiring, firing and compensation standards when dealing with their employees. They also state that workers be paid a set minimum wage and overtime and restrict employers from hiring children to work in certain industries and certain schedules. These laws also specify whether wages can be withheld, how sick leave is accrued and how other benefits should be handled.

Your right to overtime pay is guaranteed under federal law

During the holiday season, it's not uncommon for some employers to ask their workers to pick up a few extra shifts so that they can meet their customers' demands. Some employees may work double what they would during any other time of the year as a result. It's not unheard of for them to rack up in excess of 40 hours a week.

New Jersey employers should be careful when hiring minors

Child labor laws are enforced by the State of New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development. They restrict when and how much someone under the age of 18 is allowed to work, the types of the establishments that they may work for, the tasks they can carry out and the products or machines that they're allowed to use.

New Jersey considers $15 minimum wage

As more and more workers face the realities of inflation outpacing wage growth, people in entry-level positions often suffer the most difficulty finding financial footing. However, New Jersey lawmakers are considering some big shifts in wage laws that may relieve some of this mounting pressure. They are considering legislation to raise the minimum wage from its current rate to approximately $15 per hour.

Email Us For A Response

Free Case Review Fill out this form for a free, Immediate, Case Evaluation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Costello & Mains, LLC

18000 Horizon Way, Suite 800
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054

Toll Free: 800-421-0212
Phone: 856-291-0642
Fax: 856-727-9797
Mount Laurel Law Office Map