New Jersey state labor laws require employers to uphold certain hiring, firing and compensation standards when dealing with their employees. They also state that workers be paid a set minimum wage and overtime and restrict employers from hiring children to work in certain industries and certain schedules. These laws also specify whether wages can be withheld, how sick leave is accrued and how other benefits should be handled.
These labor laws specify that all workers should be paid at the very least the state minimum wage for every hour worked. They also require all employees to be paid one and one-half times for every hour they’re asked to work in excess of 40 hours. There are some workers that don’t have to be compensated in accordance with these rules.
The New Jersey Wage Payment Law forbids employers from withholding wages or otherwise deducting funds from an employee’s paycheck if a cash register comes up short or if they spill or break something while on the job. That same law spells out how often and how a worker should be paid wages that they’re due as well.
On Oct. 29, 2018, the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law went into effect. It allows most employees in the state to accrue an hour worth of sick leave for every 30 hours that they actually work. While the new law only allows workers to accumulate 40 hours on an annual basis, their employers may institute policies offering them an ability to accrue even more than that.
When you beat out the competition to land a job that you applied for, the last thing that you want to do is to put it in jeopardy by accusing your employer of having withheld wages or not having adequately credited you for your sick leave. You are not alone. An attorney can handle filing a claim on your behalf so that you don’t have to be put in a difficult position going after them by yourself.