Effective July 24, 2009, the minimum wage in New Jersey is $7.25 per hour.
Most employees have minimum wage protection under the law. There are exceptions such as automobile salespersons, outside salespersons and minors under the age of 18, except for minors working in retail, food service, the first processing of farm products, beauty culture occupations, laundry, cleaning and dyeing occupations, light manufacturing and apparel occupations and hotel and motel occupations.
The combination of salary and tips must equal at least $7.25 per hour, the New Jersey minimum wage. A suggested minimum hourly rate is $2.13 per hour. If the tips plus the hourly salary are less than $7.25 per hour, the employer must make up the difference.
You can reduce the rate of pay as long as you give the employee advance notice of the reduction. The reduction cannot be made retroactively for any time worked. Also, the reduction cannot bring the rate of pay below minimum wage.
Have your Civil Rights been violated by an employer or at work? Fill out the short form below to receive a FREE Case Review from New Jersey Employment Rights Lawyer Kevin Costello, a Certified Trial Attorney.